Barrow Minority Doctoral Student Scholarship

harrisonAEJMC’s Communication Theory and Methodology Division will present the Barrow Scholarship to Dominique Harrison at its 2013 Conference in Washington, DC. The award honors the late Professor Lionel C. Barrow, Jr. of Howard University, in recognition of his pioneering efforts in support of minority education in journalism and mass communication. Harrison was chosen from a field of highly qualified candidates on the basis of her capacity for and record of making significant contributions to communication theory and methodology.

Dominique Harrison (M.A., University of Texas at Austin; B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) is a doctoral candidate in the Mass Communication and Media Studies program at Howard University. Her research agenda explores the potential of new media technology to impact social change. She is particularly interested in information and communication technology (ICT) policy as it relates to the advancement of women within different cultures.

In her statement, Harrison describes her research as being “in service to international development by bridging theory and practice to improve policy and public awareness of gender in ICT strategies.” She plans to use the scholarship to help fund her dissertation research, which focuses on telecommunications policy in Jamaica.

Harrison received strong praise from her references. One letter stated, “Dominique’s research demonstrates a deep intellectual and political grasp of gender, race and colonialism in today’s global media dynamics.”

The award in the amount of $1,400 is sponsored by the CT&M Division and is made possible in part through contributions from the Minorities and Communication Division, the Commission on the Status of Minorities and personal donations, as well as royalties from Guido H. Stempel III, David Weaver and Cleveland Wilhoit’s Mass Communication Research and Theory. It is designed to aid doctoral students in journalism or mass communication programs to complete their dissertation research.

Past winners:

2012 Rowena Briones, University of Maryland
2011 Adrienne Chung, Ohio State
2010 Eulàlia Puig Abril, Wisconsin-Madison
2009 Emily Elizabeth Acosta, Wisconsin-Madison
2008 Troy Elias, Ohio State
2007 Yusur Kalynago, Jr., Missouri
2006 Omotayo Banjo, Pennsylvania State
2005 Jeanetta Simms, Central Oklahoma
2004 Susan Chang, Michigan State
2003 T. Keith Gaither, North Carolina
2002 Mia Moody-Hall, Texas at Austin
2001 George Daniels, Georgia
2000 Maria E. Len-Rios, Missouri
1999 Meredith Lee Ballmer, Washington
1998 Osei Appiah, Stanford University
1997 Alice Chan Plummer, Michigan State
1996 Dwayne Proctor, Connecticut
1995 Dhavan Shah, Minnesota
1994 Qingnen Dong, Washington State
1993 Shalini Venturelli, Colorado
1991 Diana Rios, Texas at Austin
1990 Jose Lozano
1989 Jane Rhodes, North Carolina
1987 James Sumner Lee, North Carolina
1985 Barbara McBain Brown, Stanford
1983 Dianne L. Cherry, North Carolina
1982 Tony Atwater, Michigan State
1981 Sharon Bramlett, Indiana
1980 Federico Subervi, Wisconsin-Madison
1979 Gillian Grannum, North Carolina
1978 Paula Poindexter, Syracuse
1977 John J. Johnson, Ohio
1975 Norman W. Spaulding, Illinois
1974 Rita Fujiki, Washington
1973 William E. Berry, Illinois
Clay Perry, Indiana
Sherrie Lee Mazingo, Michigan State
1972 Richard Allen, Wisconsin-Madison (first)

From the head…

“CT&M is a division sometimes misunderstood. One might consider CT&M as the division that ties all AEJMC divisions together. For example, CT&M is one of the few divisions that includes political communication research, health communication research, computer-mediated communication research, international communication research, as well as broader media effects research. CT&M also offers a home for methods pieces and theoretical pieces. It offers a little bit of everything for everyone.” - Michel Haigh, CT&M Division Head